Florida’s Johnny Townsend, Eddy Pineiro land on national award watch lists

Johnny Townsend is one of 29 players on the watch list for the Ray Guy Award, given annually to the nation’s best punter. Eddy Pineiro is one of 30 players on the watch list for the Lou Groza Award, given annually to the nation’s best kicker.

Townsend, a redshirt senior, was one of 10 finalists for the 2016 Ray Guy Award. Heading into his final season, Townsend already owns most of Florida’s punting records — career average yards per punt (45.7), season average yards per punt (47.9 in 2016) and most punts in a season (83 in 2015). In 2016, his 47.9 yards per punt led the nation, 29 of his 64 punts went for at least 50 yards and 27 of his punts pinned opponents inside their 20-yard line.

Pineiro went 21-for-25 on field goals in 2016 and made 12 straight to close out the season. He hit 11 field goals from at least 40 yards out. The former high school soccer standout found the accuracy needed to complement his powerful right leg as the season progressed and he will surely get his share of field goal opportunities in 2017. Pineiro also has a chance to crack a slew of kicking records, including but not limited to most consecutive field goals (17 — Bobby Raymond, 1984) longest field goal (60 yards — Chris Perkins, 1984) and career field goal percentage (87.8 percent — Raymond, 1981-82).

A full list of Florida players on watch lists is below. Award Florida players on list Maxwell Award QB Malik Zaire Bednarik Award DB Duke Dawson, DE CeCe Jefferson Rimington Trophy C T.J. McCoy John Mackey Award TE DeAndre Goolsby Ray Guy Award P Johnny Townsend Lou Groza Award K Eddy Pineiro