NCAA Announces 2017 Championship Field

The NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 2017 championship field. The Florida Gators were named the No. 1 overall seed in the 64-team field. The Gators earned the top seed for the third straight year.

Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic bid, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites beginning Thursday.

The SEC led all leagues with 13 teams selected to the championship. That is every team that plays softball in the conference. The Pac-12 placed eight teams in the tournament. The Top 16 seeds are:

> Florida



Florida State





Texas A&M

Oklahoma Utah Ole Miss LSU Kentucky Baylor Alabama Team pairings were determined by geographic region, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the regional competition. Three teams are making their first appearance in the tournament: East Tennessee State, Montana, and Saint Francis (PA).Regionals will be held May 18-21 on 16 campus sites. At each campus site, a four-team, double-elimination tournament will be conducted and the 16 winning teams advance to the Super Regionals.Super Regionals will be held May 25-28 on eight campus sites. At each site, two teams play in a best-of-three tournament format. The winners from each site advance to the NCAA Women’s College World Series. Click here for a link the interactive bracket Regional Pairings Gainesville Regional – May 19-21 No. 1 Florida vs. Florida A&MFIU vs. Oklahoma State Tuscaloosa Regional – May 19-21 Minnesota vs. Louisiana TechAlbany (NY) vs. No. 16 Alabama College Station Regional – May 19-21 No. 9 Texas A&M vs. Texas SouthernTexas vs. Texas St. Knoxville Regional – May 19-21 Ohio St. vs. USC UpstateLongwood vs. No. 8 Tennessee Los Angeles Regional – May 19-21 No. 5 UCLA vs. LehighSan Jose St. vs. Cal St. Fullerton Oxford Regional – May 19-21 Arizona St. vs. North CarolinaSouthern Ill. Vs. No. 12 Ole Miss Baton Rouge Regional – May 19-21 No. 13 LSU vs. FairfieldMcNeese vs. Louisiana Tallahassee Regional – May 19-21 Georgia vs. Jacksonville St.Princeton vs. No. 4 Florida St. Eugene Regional – May 19-21 No. 3 Oregon vs. Ill.-ChicagoWisconsin vs. Missouri Lexington Regional – May 19-21 Illinois vs. MarshallDePaul vs. No. 14 Kentucky Salt Lake City Regional – May 18-20 No. 11 Utah vs. FordhamMississippi St. vs. BYU Seattle Regional – May 19-21 Michigan vs. Fresno St.Montana vs. No. 6 Washington Auburn Regional – May 19-21 No. 7 Auburn vs. ETSUNotre Dame vs. California Norman Regional – May 19-21 Tulsa vs. ArkansasNorth Dakota St. vs. No. 10 Oklahoma Waco Regional – May 19-21 No. 15 Baylor vs. Kent St.Oregon St. vs. James Madison Tucson Regional – May 19-21 South Carolina vs. Saint Francis (PA)New Mexico St. vs. No. 2 Arizona