Three Florida Gators earn All-SEC honors, White Coach of the Year

University of Florida guard KeVaughn Allen greets fans after the Gators win over the Arkansas Razorbacks / Gator Country photo by David Bowie In just his second season as the Florida Gators head basketball coach Mike White was named the SEC Coach of the Year, as voted on by the league’s coaches.

The Gators have won 24 games, tied for third most in program history, this season, and three more than they did in White’s first season in Gainesville. This is the third time in his six seasons as a head coach that White has been named his conference’s Coach of the Year. White was named the WAC Coach of the Year (2013) and Conference USA Coach of the Year (2015) while he coached at Louisiana Tech.

The Gators also had three players honored with several All-SEC distinctions. Sophomore guard KeVaughn Allen was named a First Team All-SEC, Kasey Hill was named Second Team All-SEC as well as the All-Defensive team. Graduate transfer Canyon Barry was named the league’s Sixth Man of the Year.

Allen led the Gators in scoring with 13.9 per game and is the first Florida sophomore named to the first team since Kenny Boynton (2012).

Hill is just the third Gator to be named to the All-Defensive team. He ranked fourth in the SEC in steals (1.7) to go along with 9.6 points-per-game and 4.6 assists.

Barry is the third Gator to ever receive the SEC’s Sixth Man of the Year Award. Chris Richard (2007) and Dorian Finney-Smith (2014) are the others. Barry scored 12.5 points-per-game and led the Gators at the free throw line with an underhanded .878 mark.

First Team All-SEC
KeVaughn Allen Florida
J.J. Frazier, Georgia
Yante Maten, Georgia
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Malik Monk, Kentucky
Sebastian Saiz, Ole Miss
Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas
Kasey Hill Florida Bam Adebayo, Kentucky Antonio Blakeney, LSU Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss State Robert Hubbs III, Tennessee Tyler Davis, Texas A&M Robert Williams, Texas A&MAll-Freshman Team Braxton Key, Alabama Mustapha Heron, Auburn Bam Adebayo, Kentucky De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky Malik Monk, Kentucky Lamar Peters, Mississippi St. Grant Williams, Tennessee Robert Williams, Texas A&MAll-Defensive Team Moses Kingsley, Arkansas Kasey Hill Florida Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina Robert Williams, Texas A&M Luke Kornet, VanderbiltCoach of the Year: Mike White Florida Player of the Year: Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt Freshman of the Year: Malik Monk, Kentucky Sixth-Man of the Year: Canyon Barry Florida Defensive Player of the Year: Robert Williams, Texas A&M